Get in touch

Scientific Advisory Board

Action Against Cancer is privileged to have the following scientists and clinicians on its Scientific Advisory Board:

Professor Heinz-Josef Lenz

Director for Clinical Research and Co-Head of the GI Cancers Program, USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center, Professor of Medicine and Preventative Medicine, Keck School of Medicine, University of Southern California

Portrait photo Professor Heinz-Josef Lenz Heinz-Josef Lenz, M.D. is a professor in the Departments of Medicine and Preventive Medicine in Keck School of Medicine's oncology division. He is the Director of Clinical Research of the USC/Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center, is chair of the GI Oncology Program and is the co-director of the Colorectal Center. He also serves as the scientific director of the Cancer Genetics Unit. Professor Lenz is co-chair of the Southwest Oncology Group's Gastrointestinal (SWOG GI) committee and chair of translational medicine of the SWOG GI committee. He serves on several editorial boards as well as on national and international advisory boards. He has published over 120 peer reviewed papers.

Dr Abby Siegel

Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine, Columbia University Medical Center, New York

Dr Abby SiegelDr Abby Siegel is medical oncologist who focuses on gastrointestinal cancers. She treats patients primarily with liver, biliary, and colon cancers. Dr Siegel also performs research related to novel therapeutics and predictive and prognostic biomarkers of response, primarily in patients with liver cancer. She currently holds a K12 award from the National Institute of Health (NIH). She is on the SWOG GI Steering Committee, and was recently appointed to the ASCO Scientific Program Committee to help set the clinical trials agenda for patients with upper GI malignancies nationally.

Dr Siddhartha Mukherjee

Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine, Columbia University Medical Center, New York

Portrait photo Dr Siddhartha Mukherjee Dr Siddhartha Mukherjee is a haematologist and oncologist at Columbia University Medical Center. His research focuses on cancer therapy and gene functions related to blood cells. Dr Mukherjee has published articles in Nature, The New England Journal of Medicine, The New York Times, and The New Republic. He is the author of The Laws of Medicine, The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer, winner of the 2011 Pulitzer Prize and The Gene: An Intimate History.

Professor Pramod K. Srivastava

Director, Carole and Ray Neag Comprehensive Cancer Center, Connecticut

Portrait photo Professor Pramod K. Srivastava Professor Pramod K. Srivastava is part of the leadership team of the Connecticut Institute for Clinical and Translational Science (CICATS) and holds the Eversource Energy Chair in Experimental Oncology. He has earned international acclaim for his groundbreaking work in the immunological function of heat shock proteins and in cancer immunology, is widely published in scholarly journals and serves on editorial boards for several major journals in immunology.